Somerville Livin', PVD Workin'

Cooking, Crafting, and Life

Catch-Up Post #1 (Food) August 18, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — sarahinpvd @ 6:55 pm

Okay, I’m taking advantage of my blog-writing mood. This is Part 1 of my attempt to document the past 6 months.

So I made some food:

1. Thit Kho Tau (at least this is what my mom calls it) – Vietnamese Braised Pork with Eggs

It didn’t quite taste like my Mom’s cooking… but it was close enough (here’s a recipe). Probably because I’m not great at cooking but also probably because I didn’t add any MSG. Not because I am against MSG but because I don’t have any. MSG is a natural by-product of the soy-sauce production process so suck it. Here’s an article on MSG which explains why haters can suck it. On a related tangent – Providence is home to a restaurant with a Momofuku disciple (North) and it’s one of my new favorite places to eat! 

2013-01-20 22.06.14

2. Spaghetti with meatballs (stuffed with mozzarella!) with Kate

I’m not the biggest fan of spaghetti and meatballs but this was a simple meal and plus, it had mozzarella, how could I resist?

2013-01-28 19.43.24

3. (Sarah had a random craving for) blueberry muffins.

For a quickie recipe – they didn’t taste half bad. I’m looking forward to actually baking in my new kitchen though! Once Dan lets me get a doughnut pan, be on the lookout for baked doughnut pictures!

2013-02-18 21.13.49

4. Cooking with Dan and Chris: Brown rice and quinoa from a box, pork chops, and roasted brussels sprouts with bacon.

One word – delicious.

2013-03-02 19.25.55

5. Itsuka and Sarah wanted buffalo chicken pizza.

2013-03-17 12.48.25

6. Ma Po Tofu

This is one of mine (and Dan’s) favorite go-to recipes. It’ll definitely be a staple once we move in together – along with Spicy Chicken Rigatoni!

2013-04-20 20.12.04

7. Accidentally eating vegetarian – veggie burger on an english muffin with avocado and sweet potato fries.

The veggie burgers were from Trader Joe’s, my review – decent.

2013-04-28 19.29.06

 

8. [Ninja Edit]: Spring rolls

One of the few Vietnamese dishes I know how to make!

2013-04-06 17.45.18

9. Last, but certainly not least in my heart, my dearest bok choy plant: Johann Sebastian Bok (kudos to Dan for the name). Here’s his progression from humble plant sitting on my desk at the office (I got him at a RI event at the State House) to monster plant in Dan’s Mom’s garden, to sitting in a kitchen, being prepped for cooking.

2013-04-25 15.48.07

2013-05-19 15.17.32

2013-06-09 13.06.23

Next – things I’ve done, places I’ve traveled, and events I’ve attended in the past 6 months.

 

Leave a Reply

