Somerville Livin', PVD Workin'

Cooking, Crafting, and Life

VEGGIE BOX! September 9, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — sarahinpvd @ 9:10 pm

So I didn’t take pictures of my veggie box as I was unpacking partially because I forgot and also because I was very busy looking up the best way to store these strange veggies I would have never bought. But… this weekend I made a ton of stuff from my box.

Sweet Potato Fries

Dan and I made baked sweet potato fries and used some garlic powder, dried basil, oregano, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes for seasoning. I think they ended up being a little spicier than we anticipated and a little saltier than we wanted but overall a success!

 

On Saturday, we went to go see the USS Michael Murphy (a destroyer) at Newport. Chris’s cousin is in the Navy and she, along with her friends, gave us a tour! Although, this isn’t really my jam and I don’t know as much about Navy ships as say… Dan… it was still amazing. The sheer size and mechanics of the ship are mind-blowing. It cost 1.8 billion dollars… things that we were touching/seeing were MAD expensive. When we came home, we made Glazed Festival Squash which turned out really well and were sweet and delicious!

 

Today, we made eggs with arugula and leeks for breakfast which turned out really well! Dan (and I, by extension) learned how to cut, clean, and cook leeks. Thank goodness for Youtube! It looked really good in the pan but I forgot to take a picture of it then. I was too eager to eat!

 

For dinner, I had some Healthy Choice quick meal thing and then I made some soup! It has carrots, caramelized onions, celery, and potato. I seasoned it liberally with salt and pepper after blending it but it tastes pretty good and seems pretty healthy to me! It’s got a great color to it and is a way I can eat carrots!

 

 

Now I have 1 Mcintosh apple, 1 sweet potato, 3 beets, 3 peaches, and 4 skinny carrots left from my original box o’ vegetables. Itsuka is taking care of the Romaine lettuce for since I’m not a huge fan — I prefer mixed greens, arugula, or spinach and I’m adding celery to my vegetable stock since I bought some today for soup. I’m planning to roast the beets and then saute the beet greens with some turkey bacon. My next veggie box comes on Wednesday and I’m sure I’ll have to take some home with me since there is no way I can eat everything before I leave for the weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

