Somerville Livin', PVD Workin'

Cooking, Crafting, and Life

Spicy Pork Bulgolgi Banh Mi + Zucchini Pizza Bites August 1, 2012

Filed under: Cooking,Reading,Swimming — sarahinpvd @ 8:35 pm

This past weekend Dan and I made some pork bulgolgi which we then “Vietnamesized”. The marinade for the pork bulgolgi ended up a little bit salty so I’ll use less soy sauce next time and marinate it for a shorter amount of time. Minus the extra salty, it was good and I’d definitely use the marinade again. It did use a lot things though — asian pear, fuji apple, ginger, garlic, onion, etc — and was a bit of a hassle to make but that could be my laziness talking. We got the french baguette (banh mi) from the Seven Stars stand at the farmer’s market. It’s a good thing I don’t live close to Seven Stars or else I would spend all my money on their bread. It was delicious and perfectly crunchy. We also made the pickled carrot and daikon radish which I forgot to put on the first two sandwiches but then remembered on the last two– no pictures with the pickled stuff though 😦  The mayos (one had gochujang and another had sesame) were okay but not fantastic… I’ll have to think about an alternative for next time.

 

We had some mango lassi to go along with our banh mi but I forgot to take a picture of those. Cue a stock photo from the internet! Mine used fresh, ripe mango and yogurt from Narragansett Creamery. Delicious! A definite repeat. I also love Narragansett Creamery.

I used my leftover pork bulgolgi and pickled carrots/daikon with some rice and stir-fried boy choy in two fantastic dinners. Cooking really is cost-effective, but it’s just so time consuming!

 

Last but not least, I made zucchini pizza bites…. which were FANTASTIC. They were a great snack and I think I can say they’re relatively healthy. It’s just zucchini slices with a little bit of pizza sauce and turkey pepperoni. It also took no time at all.

 

July cooking was a wild success! I definitely accomplished my goal of two new dishes a month.

In other news, I’m a little bit behind on my reading goal but I did finish Maphead. It was a good and entertaining read and prompted me to think about doing a little bit of exploring around Providence. I did feel that there were a few points in the book where Ken Jennings was trying too hard to be funny. I still haven’t gone to find that geocache across the street from my house but it’s on the list of things to do!

I also started my first swim lesson yesterday. The instructor didn’t show up but it did give me a chance to get more comfortable in the water. The pool at the East Side Y was good in the sense that it’s only 5 ft at the deep end so I feel totally comfortable learning how to swim…. now if only the instructor would show up. I guess I’ll see if he shows up next week.

What a week. I’m trying to get back into running again and I still have to fix my bike/get a bike rack but it’s been hard to get up in the morning since I’ve been watching the Olympics and work has been really tiring lately. There’s so much I want to do and not a lot of time. I should probably cut down on my TV time…

For August, I think I want to try making dumplings or burgers for maybe both!

 

 

Leave a Reply

