Somerville Livin', PVD Workin'

Cooking, Crafting, and Life

Chicken with Black Bean Sauce and Pesto Pasta (II) June 27, 2010

Filed under: Cooking,Running — sarahinpvd @ 7:21 pm

Dan came over this weekend and besides beating me in bowling (which everyone else also did), we cooked! We made, or maybe I should say he made… since I really only cut up some vegetables. But anyways, we made chicken with black bean sauce. We cut up some garlic, onions, and broccoli and just basically made a semi stir-fry. We “marinated” the chicken in a little bit of soy sauce, garlic, and black bean sauce and then cooked it and put the vegetables in later. The chicken broth/corn starch sauce combo didn’t quite thicken up like we wanted it to but it’s okay because it still tasted DELICIOUS.

Here’s a picture of how awful I did in bowling. Dan was “Ugly Face” (courtesy of Chris Belcher), I was “Granny” thanks to Josh who calls me that because I go to bed early, Julio was “Julisha”, Chris was “Haole Boy” courtesy of Dan (it means white boy and is an almost derogatory term in Hawaiian), Riz was “Captain” (I have no idea why) and I think Josh was just Josh).

Here’s the chicken with black bean sauce. I’m definitely going to be making this recipe later on in the summer and I’ll try to make the sauce thicker.The drinks that Dan and I had (with mine being very diluted) was Pimms and ginger ale. I’ll have to try Pimms with some apple cider next time.

Today I tried pasta again, this time with some pesto, cherry tomatoes, garlic, mushrooms, and avocado. I think there was a little too much avocado even though I really love avocado but the creaminess got to be too much at the end. I’ll have the rest for lunch tomorrow! I definitely am glad I bought some pesto instead of alfredo sauce since we have Bahsil, our basil plant in case I want to add anymore basil. I also like the taste of pesto more than alfredo. Finally, success with pasta!

 

One Response to “Chicken with Black Bean Sauce and Pesto Pasta (II)”

  1. Dan Says:

    Thank god you didn’t take a picture of my bowling score in the first round.


Leave a Reply

