Somerville Livin', PVD Workin'

Cooking, Crafting, and Life

First Cooked Meal of the Summer! June 9, 2010

Filed under: Cooking,Reading — sarahinpvd @ 12:06 am

Since I had today off from work, I decided to put some real effort into my lunch and dinner. For lunch, I made a salad with red leaf lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers, and some pieces of chicken (cooked in a pan). The dressing was just some red wine vinegar with a little bit of sugar. The salad sure made me feel healthy but it was lacking in the “feeling full” category. I’ll probably take out the tomatoes next time since I forgot how much I don’t like tomatoes in my salad and add an egg. Maybe I’ll make a fancier dressing but I really like a vinegar-y taste.

For dinner I made penne with asparagus and chicken. If the chicken pieces look familiar, it’s because they were cooked the same way as for lunch except this time I added some garlic. I’ve never really been that big of a fan of pasta so my pasta cooking skills aren’t that great (not like any of my cooking skills are great). I boiled the pasta and asparagus and cooked the chicken. For a “sauce”, I just put some olive oil and Parmesan cheese like the directions on allrecipes.com said to do. I think the best part of this meal was the asparagus.  The pasta itself was kinda bland probably from a lack of sauce and tasted like it came from the Ratty…which is always a bad sign.

All in all, it was an okay day for my first foray into cooking things. Hopefully nothing I made makes me sick (so far so good!). I think tomorrow for dinner, I’ll have the rest of my pasta and have the rest of my salad since I’m going to the mall with Itsuka after work. Then on Thursday, I’ll probably make some sort of stir-fry that I can eat with rice like broccoli and asparagus with chicken.

On an entirely different note, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is a fantastic read. I just started and I can’t put it down.

 

Leave a Reply

